2015 Pikihuia Award Winners

On a wet afternoon last Saturday in Wellington, the sun shone inside Te Wharewaka o Poneke as the winners for the 2015 Pikihuia Awards for Maori writers were announced.

The winners were:

Best Short Story written by a Secondary Student
Anna-Rose McGarvey, Otakiri School – Enlisted (Tūhoe, Ngāti Awa, Ngāpuhi, Tuwharetoa) Kawerau
Anna-Rose-McGarvey_web.jpgBest Novel Extract
Ann French – Hands of Time (Ngāpuhi) Tauranga
Best Short Film Script
Aroha Awarau – Puti (Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Porou) Auckland
Best Short Story written in English
Toni Pivac – In the Space of a Moment (Ngāti Whātua, Ngāpuhi, Te Rārawa) Whangarei
Best Short Story written in Māori
Darryn Joseph – Toku Ao, Tō Mate Kanehe (Ngāti Maniapoto) Palmerston North

The stories drew praise from all of the judges although the best short film scripts proved a bit different.  'Ultimately the feature that separated the best scripts from the rest was not something that I had set out to assess. All three of the finalists had a dose of that magic and the winner had it in truckloads. Emotional Impact – that is what set the winner apart from the rest” said Larry Parr, judge for the Best Short Film Script.

The ceremony also saw Peti Nohotima receive the Huia Kahurangi Special Award for her Lifetime Contributions to Māori Literature.

Darryn-Joseph_web.jpgTe Waka Taki Kōrero once again thanked their sponsors Creative New Zealand, Excel Digital, Taura Whiri i te reo Māori, Te Māngai Pāho, Shane Hansen and Huia Publishers. We would also like to acknowledge our judges Sir Wira Gardiner, Witi Ihimaera, Larry Parr, Poia Rewi and Arihia McClutchie, along with our presenters Matai Smith, Tilly Reedy, Stephen Wainwright, Rawinia Higgins, Tuehu Harris, Rowan Pita and Waana Davis.

More information can be found at the Maori Literature Trust website.

Pictured above right, the youngest winner Anna-Rose McGarvey (centre) with (L-R) Gabrielle Paringatai-Lemisio (Huia Publishers) and Rowan Pita (Ministry of Education), and below right, Darryn Joseph (centre), winner of the Best Short Story in te reo Māori with (L-R) Tuehu Harris (Te Taura Whiri I te reo Māori) and judge Poia Rewi.