Te Papa Tupu 2018. Writers Announced!

kaitlyn baker 422999 unsplash

kaitlyn baker 422999 unsplash

Six writers have been chosen for Te Papa Tupu 2018.

They are: 

  • Ataria Rangipikitia Sharman, (Ngāpuhi, Tapuika Te Arawa), Porirua
  • Cassie Hart, (Ngāi Tahu), New Plymouth
  • Colleen Maria Lenihan, (Te Rarawa, Ngāpuhi), Auckland
  • Hone Rata, (Ngāti Maniapoto, Taranaki), New Plymouth
  • Nadine Hura, (Ngāti Hine, Ngāpuhi), Aotea Park
  • Shilo Kino, (Ngāpuhi, Tainui), Auckland

Selected by Reina Whaitiri and Whiti Hereaka. 

‘There are so many talented storytellers out there; it was truly difficult to narrow it down,’ Whiti said. ‘If this year is not your year, please don’t be discouraged. It took a couple of tries before I was accepted in Te Papa Tupu as a participant in 2012. Keep refining and polishing your work – and submit again.’

Te Papa Tupu 2018 commences in July.

Writers will share their experiences through monthly journals published on the Māori Literature website. Stay tuned and follow their journey. 

Te Papa Tupu is a six month writing programme developed by the Māori LIterature Trust and organised by Huia Publishers.

Read the full media release here

Learn more about Te Papa Tupu here