Pikihuia Awards for Māori Writers

About the Awards

These awards started in 1995 as the HUIA short story writing competition as a way to identify new literary talent. Since that time, the event has expanded from two categories to six different categories. It is now known as the Pikihuia Awards and is into its third decade.

The awards are organised by the Māori Literature Trust – Te Waka Taki Kōrero in collaboration with Huia Publishers.

Held every two years, these awards aim to discover and promote new and emerging talent. The Pikihuia Awards encourage diverse Māori viewpoints in both English and te reo Māori and provide an opportunity for writers to practise their craft and be recognised for it.

The next awards are being held in 2021. To keep up to date with the awards and writers' news, sign up to our e-pānui or visit www.mlt.org.nz.

New Releases

New Releases

Featured Author

Mark Sweet

Mark Sweet med